PakMed Information Desk is a reliable source of educational and biomedical information * * * Here you can find information about Boards of Intermediate and Secondary Education BISE in Pakistan * * * You can find and share a lot of biomedical information at PakMed Web site

Final OPF Merit List 2012 - For Admission to MBBS / BDS in Government Medical and Dental Colleges / Institutions of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KPK) Session 2012-13 Announced on September 25, 2012 - Khyber Medical University KMU Peshawar  (Khyber Medical College KMC Peshawar, Khyber Girls Medical College KGMC, Ayub Medical College Abbottabad, Gomal Medical College Dera Ismail Khan, Bannu Medical College BMC Bannu, Bacha Khan Medical College BKMC Mardan, Khyber College of Dentistry KCD Peshawar, Saidu Medical College SMC Swat, etc)

The Khyber Medical College was founded in 1954 by Mr. Malik Ghulam Muhammad, Governor General of Pakistan, with the vision to create a centre of excellence in medical training, health care and biomedical research. Since then it has expanded steadily to meet the growing health care needs of the ever expanding city. A dentistry department was founded in 1964 which is now called Khyber College of Dentistry.

The college has a faculty of more than 100 full-time teachers and researchers in 26 research-oriented basic and clinical academic departments. More than 9000 graduates call Khyber Medical College their alma mater. Around 1400 medical students are enrolled in the college in any given year. Every year a high number of graduates are accepted in residency and sub-speciality training programs in the United States and United Kingdom. Professor Dr. Sultan Mehmood is currently the dean and principal of Khyber Medical College.

Final OPF Merit List 2012

About Khyber Medical University

Khyber Medical University, in Peshawar, Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Pakistan, is first public sector medical university. It was established in January 2007 with jurisdiction on the entire province including the Federally Administered Tribal Areas.

The motto of KMU is ôService to Humanity by striving for excellence in medical education and research as well as for providing medical students with state-of-the-art knowledge, skills and technology to deliver the highest standards of health care for the region." Degrees awarded are MBBS (Bachelor of Medicine and Bachelor of Surgery) and BDS (Bachelor of Dental Surgery).

Seminars, symposia, and workshops are regularly held in the KMU. The curricula for MBBS and BDS are thoroughly being revised and the university will switch to problem-based learning system after the curricula are revised.

Affiliated colleges

Affiliated colleges and/or institutions include:
Ayub Medical College - Abbottabad
Ayub College of Dentistry - Abbottabad
Gomal Medical College - Dera Ismail Khan
Khyber Medical College - Peshawar
Khyber College of Dentistry - Peshawar
Khyber Girls Medical College - Peshawar
Saidu Medical College - Swat
Abbottabad International Medical College - Abbottabad
KMU Institute of Medical Sciences - Kohat
Bannu Medical College-Bannu


Custom Search
PakMed Home

PakMed Home


Copyrights (c) PakMed Biomedical Solutions. All rights reserved.